Crete is being divided administratively into four provinces called Prefectures, each with its capital town on the north coast. From West to East, they are Chania (for Chania Prefecture), Rethymnon (for Rethymno Prefecture), Heraklion (for Heraklion Prefecture), and Agios Nikolaos (for Lassithi Prefecture).  

 Due to the modern E90 National Road which connects these cities, running parallel with the chain of seaside resorts and tourist villages, the North is the most dynamic and packed part of the island.